Archive for April, 2008

Recap CTIA Spring 2008

Thursday, April 3rd, 2008

Spring CTIA 2008 was an amazingly energetic event that saw the real participation of many entertainment start-ups, handset manufactures, and even some carriers. Many of the first generation mobile companies have graduated from the mobile entertainment pavilion, and now show some real booth presence. Hopefully this increased spending was kicked off by some real revenues. To me it seemed that this CTIA marketed a true shift from a B2B (infrastructure) conference, to a show that conveys the excitement of an infinitely customizable consumer product.

Brands, advertisers, and media companies were present and involved. This might be the first sign of involvement beyond experimental budgets. Certainly this would ignite the next wave of innovation.

To me the most important companies to watch are:

– Skyfire – New type of mobile browser that truly displays all kind of content

– Buzzd – Premier mobile, local search service. Provides real-time information for bars, clubs and restaurants on any mobile device. See what’s happening at any venue right now and connect with friends and people in the area. 

– StarCut  – Brings your media company into the mobile environment, and helps you develop monetization strategies. Best new implementation: zagat.mobi 

– Greystripe – Free, ad supported games. Huge catalog. Games are circulated through many independent distributors, the company’s own portal, and carriers.

Combined revenues of all mobile marketing companies around $35 million

Thursday, April 3rd, 2008

Nielsen just reported that 23% (58 million) of all U.S. mobile subscribers say they’ve been exposed to advertising on their phones in the past 30 days, and half (28 million) of those say they responded to a mobile ad in some way.

If that is in fact true then Nielsen puts the combined revenues of all US mobile marketing companies at roughly a $36 million. 

60 million eyeballs x CPM of $20 x 12 month = $14 million

Plus

Generous estimated that 1/3 of all clicks were also (and this is a stretch) monetizable through a 20 cents CPC in 12 months = $21 million.

Total: $35 million

Yes, yes. The accountants among you will not be happy with my simple calculations, but if you talk to folks over a beer you get to a similar number.